Tchaikovsky: Piano Concerto and the Fifth Symphony

International Record Review called star pianist Joyce Yang’s take on Tchaikovsky’s first piano concerto “hugely enjoyable, beautifully shaped … a performance that marks her out as an enormous talent.” Now, the Grammy-nominated artist is bringing that thrilling interpretation of a concerto once thought to be unplayable to Bass Performance Hall. Dutch conductor Edo de Waart joins the orchestra for an all-Tchaikovsky program that pairs the concerto with Symphony No. 5 and its famous opening “fate” motif.


TCHAIKOVSKY: Piano Concerto No. 1

TCHAIKOVSKY: Symphony No. 5

Featured Artists

Edo de Waart, conductor

Joyce Yang, piano


Mar 15, 2024


Bass Performance Hall